Faiz Ahmed Faiz…

is a Pakistani poet. He writes in Urdu. Anyway, a BT colleague sent me a few of his poems this morning. Wanted to share one:

Do Not Ask of Me, My Love

Do not ask of me, my love,
that love I once had for you.
There was a time when
life was bright and young and blooming,
and your sorrow was much more than
any other pain.
Your beauty gave the spring everlasting youth;
your eyes, yes your eyes were everything,
all else was vain.
While you were mine, I thought, the world was mine.
Though now I know that it was not reality,
that’s the way I imagined it to be;
for there are other sorrows in the world than love,
and other pleasures, too.
Woven in silk and satin and brocade,
those dark and brutal curses of countless centuries;
bodies risen from the cauldron of disease
pus dripping from their festering sores –
my eyes must also turn to these.
You’re beautiful still my love
but I am helpless too;
for there are other sorrows in the world than love,
and other pleasures too.
Do not ask of me, my love,
the love I once had for you!

Leave a Reply

