Goukon

To those familiar with Japanese culture, you’d know that the people love to drink. They regularly have kompas or drinking parties if you like, with friends and get wasted. Goukon is a type of drinking party, but more like a group blind date. Usually, at the end of the party, at least a few numbers will change hands and may lead to further meetings (in a more private setting of course).

I went to one last Sunday. My friend Coy was asked by a Japanese acquaintance to bring her single Japanese girlfriends while he will bring his group. And I had to accompany Coy.

There were four Japanese ladies and five guys that night, and then Coy and myself. It was kind of weird as I have not been to any kompa since I came back in 2000. And I’ve never been to a goukon before. But I just minded my own business and listened to the conversations around me. As I already know three of the girls there, I wasn’t too left out. The guys were normal enough, but not one of them were my type. Not that I was hoping for anything.

As the night progressed, I did not see any possibilities of anyone hooking up with another. The guys were loud after a few drinks but were polite as only Japanese guys can be. One of the girls (let’s call her Barbie) was very friendly with everyone but did not single out a particular guy. Was I wrong.

When the party came to an end and everyone got off the lift to their cars, I saw Barbie walking with guy Y towards Bukit Bintang, holding hands! Man, that was fast. I guess she was horny. She had just arrived a couple of months back and (according to her) she doesn’t know anyone apart from her colleagues.

I hope Barbie and Y had a good time. Heh. So that was my first goukon experience and I think I’ll wait a year or two before going again….

2 thoughts on “Goukon

  1. […] it should have been better.” If that’s how you feel, it isn’t too late. Go on gôkon. Go out dancing in clubs. There you’ll find yourself not having […]

  2. celo says:

    what does this bukit bintang means? A kind of love hotel (cause you mentioned about she being horny before) or whatsoever, I don’t know, the girl’s home?

Leave a Reply

