Daddy dearest

I read this post and felt inclined to blog.

Yesterday was Father’s Day for most people. I haven’t seen or spoken to my dad since Christmas and didn’t bother to call or at least sms him a greeting. It has been almost 6 years but I am still angry at him, for leaving my mum and us kids. Not just that, but for his subsequent actions, which really made our lives hell.

However, things between him and my youngest sister are better. They’ve went shopping together, shared a few jokes and he’d just bought her a car.

Me, I haven’t the courage to get past my anger and move on. I mean, he used to be a person that I admire and respect. And proud of too. After what he did, I even felt ashamed to carry his name but that cannot be helped. A name doesn’t guarantee you’ll end up a success or failure. It’s what you are made of that’s important.

Lately, I started to feel sorry for him. Sorry that he couldn’t see the wrongs that he did and sorry that God took away his public status, something that is very important to him, and still he did not get it.

I know it is considered derhaka to still be angry at my own father (and ignoring him for this long), and I know that there will be a time that I have to confront this weakness but I guess it’s not now.

Leave a Reply

