Sunset, Sunrise


Sunset in Cape Town.

The first day of Eid was… very quiet. I even had time to take a nap in the afternoon, no thanks to the rain. Didn’t go visiting at all, actually. It was almost surreal – I know it was Eid but it felt like another public holiday, if not for the lovely food and some friends and relatives coming over.

In the evening, when the family was watching Erra Fazira (I think it’s Eera now, not sure) playing the nice girl yet again, I knew I had to go out. Plus, I wanted to watch the United game while the majority has some other programme in mind.
So I went by the local dvd shop and got Before Sunset. I’m so glad I did.

When I first saw its prequel Before Sunrise, I had notions of travelling Europe by train in the late summer. Of course, I dreamed of meeting a gorgeous man and fall in love during the trip. Haha. How I’ve grown up since then.

The second movie is really good too. The chemistry between Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy was still there, and made the film looked very real. And the script was a collaboration between the two actors and the film’s director Richard Linklater, which explained why the two looked so comfortable in their roles that it is believable.
I know, I’m gushing but what the heck. It’s my blog.

To meet someone that had a big impact on your life again after almost a decade, with just a few short hours before you have to go back to your separate realities. To feel the old connection working just like the last time. *sigh* Sometimes I wish I am not so cynical and more of the romantic type.

Anyway, here’s an interesting read on Ethan Hawke in New York Metro, published prior to the release of Before Sunset.

Leave a Reply

