Going with the flow

I got Paulo Coelho’s latest Like the Flowing River as a gift to myself, and also sort of a replacement to my copy of Manual of the Warrior of the Light I had given away.

The new book is a compilation of “thoughts and reflections” of the Brazillian writer, mostly have been published either online or in his syndicated newspaper columns. Many I’ve read before, and some were rehashed versions of older stuff. But most I’ve not seen before, especially the very personal ones.

I was introduced to Coelho’s work by Niza, who has influenced my choice of books and music since I was 15, when she loaned me her copy of Veronika Decides to Die. The Alchemist then became an all-time favourite of mine, a pick-me-up every once in a while.

Although I’m not a fan of self-help and motivational thoughts (you think?), Coelho’s words do inspire. I’m just not inspired enough. Excuses, they’re convenient aren’t they?

– – –

I am letting go. Again. But this time, I think it’s worth it.

2 thoughts on “Going with the flow

  1. eddycute says:

    fuh…nasib baik i didnt get that book for you. just wait for a package from SA (next week la..)

    i’m not into self help at all but LOVE the alchemist. and you know la kan, i’m the queen of excuses!

    hugs

  2. norzu says:

    eddy: you’re the queen of many things 😉

    hugs

Leave a Reply

