It’s like you never left, almost

Many of my friends based overseas are always happy to have me over. Like I can be at their place in a blink, at regular intervals la. I can understand why, I think.

Seeing how one of them surrounds herself with as many of her favourite people as she can in one outing whenever she’s back here, as if to make up for lost time. Life out there may be better (professionally or otherwise), but to have at least one familiar face with whom you don’t need to have your guard on, that can go a long way in preserving your sanity in a foreign land. Unless you’re half mat salleh to begin with before you got stuck in Kalamazoo. Hehe.

When you’re away from things you’ve been accustomed to most of your life, issues you thought trivial at home can be amplified ten times over. And that is scary. Bad days can turn to a bad month, or year.

But we human beings are usually able to adapt to any kind of situation we get ourselves into, don’t you think? Some may not handle change well and insist the environment should accomodate them. I’ve came across those types.

I found this story by chance – it was in my feed list – and I clicked on it only because Morecambe Bay sounded very familiar. The interview subject’s story may not be a typical Malaysian’s experience when going abroad either to study, work or migrate. But a bit of it is somehow universal.

How did she feel about having come to England? “Full of regret. I just didn’t know when I’d be able to pay the money back.” She would never admit it when she phoned home though. “No,” she grins ruefully, “Actually, I told them, I’m doing quite well. I wouldn’t tell them I was unhappy. But really, my life was miserable. Just working every day. Work. Sleep. Work. Sleep.”

You have a good life, financially, but you’re miserable without real friends. You get by alright, with good people around you, but you sometimes lie sleepless thinking of the next job available. That’s life. You can’t have it all. Those overly poor and the ultra-rich? I bet they have another set of problems you and I don’t need to know about.

Home is where you feel it is. Once you set your heart and mind to it, next is working to really make it into one.

– – –

I was told, again, that I tend to write very cryptic one liners. Hehe. And the other day, Mr. Everyday said I shouldn’t restrain myself from anything. Cryptic, restrained. That sound just about right.

4 thoughts on “It’s like you never left, almost

  1. thegrouch says:

    happy to finally have met you :).

  2. norzu says:

    you too, miss grouch 🙂

  3. eddycute says:

    so, bila nak dtg sini lagi? before 2010 la…

  4. eddycute says:

    so when are you coming here again?

Leave a Reply

