Telling stories around a fire

I picked up Laurie Gough’s Kite Strings of the Southern Cross earlier this year at one of the warehouse sales. Thought a travel book would be a nice change from the serious stuff I was trying to read. It was only during my recent trip that I was able to read most of it, and finished the book last weekend.

One thing for sure, Ms. Gough had gone through some bittersweet experiences here in Malaysia, although the book tells mainly of her adventures in the islands that make up Fiji. She also included stories of how carpets and her somehow don’t go well with each other, of going on a bike with an eccentric and sleeping in a tree. A good read when you need a pick-me-up, and while lazing on a hammock facing the beach front.

Her description of life as a wanderer in Fiji leads me to wanting to up and leave for a deserted island myself, although I would bring some of 21st century with me (my machine! and phone!).

– – –

kapas from merang

A while back, when driving along the coastal roads of Terengganu and Pahang, I wondered if I could stay in one of those beach fronting huts for a few months, to write and basically to get away from everything else.

That is a luxury I don’t know when I can afford to have. But it’s always good to dream, huh?

2 thoughts on “Telling stories around a fire

  1. DRFRAPPUCINO says:

    Yeah or s’thing like that tom hanks’ movie – marooned in an island could do wonders to soul-searching

  2. norzu says:

    DrFrap: I wouldn’t want to be on an island with just a basketball for company, though.

Leave a Reply

