Old skool, new skool

“Ko baca tak Zainul punya column today?”
“Baca, apasal?”
“Best siot!”

My conversation with Ayu earlier today. I was waiting for the said columnist to go for a meeting. We picked up RY along the way and I told them about the phone call. After two weeks recovering from some viral cold (I think), it was nice to see him writing again.

It has been pointed out time and again about how we are living in a different time and the teaching professionals are not the same as those 30 or 40 years ago. Parents are different too. I remember a trip to JB when Idlan and I noticed so many cars parked along the school’s compound – families visiting students. It was not as bad (?) when we were there, we said.

RY mentioned that it is during the secondary school days that children will inevitably start to spend more and more time with friends that parents nowadays would not want to see their kids as “familiar strangers”. He himself now drive up north to check up on his daughter in a matriculation centre at least once a month.

Personally, I feel there are some truths to what RY said. I’ve been on my own since 12 and friends are a big part of my life. There have been times where I don’t tell the family much about what I do or feel (still do, heh) but then, I don’t tell my friends everything either. That’s just me.

2 thoughts on “Old skool, new skool

  1. eddycute says:

    last para tu, memang betu pun! we’re eager listeners u know… hugs..

  2. eddycute says:

    ooopss..betul…spelling..hee..

Leave a Reply

