Come on baby, come on over

“I guess I’ll see you when I see you.” My flight leaves the next day.

“Take care, kid. I think I’m gonna miss you.” He would leave for Africa in January.

“Ha! With all those kids worshipping you? I doubt it.”

“Don’t cry now.” I’m going to miss his voice. I have always had a weakness for guys with nice voices.

“I’m not. Well, not really.”

It felt good to just stay like that, arms around each other.

He broke away first. “You’d better go inside,” his voice sounded a million miles away.

“Okay.”

– – –

I’ve never been to this country in the fall. It is kind of nice at first, until the rain and wind made my life miserable. Still, when the sun decides to shine, the blue skies are something to behold. I hope winter won’t be as bad as I think it will be. Hope things are well with you.

– – –

KL is happening as usual. An old boss tried to convince me to go back and work for him again but I don’t think I want to risk having my blood pressure skyrocketing every other day anymore. You take care, keep warm.

– – –

Even after two months, I still think about my last conversation I had with him, and what we didn’t say to each other. Between his sublety and my tendency to be cryptic, we could fill a library with things unsaid. Dee, my old friend living in this city, had repeatedly told me to just let it go. She even set me up on TWO blind dates, conveniently avoiding to inform me about them until a few hours before my dates arrive at my front door. Luckily for me, they never came back.

– – –

My 32nd birthday. I turned off my phone, skipped checking my emails and spent the day by the beach. I even turned down Dee’s offer to have lunch at our favourite spot in London. It felt right somehow, to just be alone with a book and my camera. I had the beach to myself, as there was hardly anyone around due to it being a weekday. Plus, who would want to be outdoors in this cold weather? It does feel odd sitting on this bench all wrapped up in a bundle of clothes. Still, it was a good day. Not too windy, and the sun was out.

After almost an hour of trying to read while being distracted by the surf, I went for lunch at a nearby pub and then headed back. It was another hour on the train and I was in the city again. I stopped to get a small cake before going back to the apartment. Dee should be free tonight for a makan session.

– – –

I noticed a cab in front of the building but didn’t think much of it, there were always people going in and out of the building of mostly post-grad students.

Shutting the door, I turned to my desk and turned on my phone and computer. It felt liberating to go “offline” for half a day. I can’t imagine being without a phone line and a high-speed internet access for too long, that’s how sad my life is.

A knock on the door as I was going through the messages on my phone.

– – –

“Delivery for a Miss …?”

I just stared at the person in front of me. Of all the things to do.

“Are you lost?”

“I wouldn’t mind that, if you’ll be lost with me.”

– – –

ENDS

4 thoughts on “Come on baby, come on over

  1. eddycute says:

    sure ke fiction? keh keh keh…

  2. coy says:

    norzu, title tu ada lyrics lagu ke sebenarnye? dah terngiang2 kat telinga aku ni lagu mr. big… 😛

  3. norzu says:

    eddy: you still wondering? 😉

    coy: masa started writing the first part tgh dengar lagu tuu.. hehe.

  4. Lin says:

    I don’t think it’s all fiction.. hehe..

Leave a Reply

