Häagen-Dazs all the way, baby!

Love is an ugly, terrible business practiced by fools. It’ll trample your heart and leave you bleeding on the floor. And what does it really get you in the end? Nothing but a few incredible memories that you can’t ever shake.

Those lines could’ve been said by anyone, although a 10 and 3/4 year-old wouldn’t be my first guess. In Little Manhattan, it was Gabe’s lines.

I must admit that the title got my interest piqued initially but I kept on watching because of the story. About a boy’s first love one summer. He just happens to live in New York City, the Upper West Side to be exact. Unlike a suburban kid, who has to be driven to school, or tuition class, Gabe is able to roam his “nine square blocks” on his skate scooter (that’s what you call them, right?), to go to (American) football kicking practice and karate class. Also, that summer, he got out of his comfort zone and ended up in.. the Village. Heh. I guess for an almost 11 year old, that would be an adventure.

Gabe fell in love for the first time while his parents are still finalising their divorce, after 1.5 years, and they’re still living in the same apartment. I like the narrative style of the story, by Gabe of course. Like this one:

Suddenly, I knew what I had to do. Love isn’t about ridiculous little words. Love is about grand gestures. Love is about airplanes pulling banners over stadiums, proposals on jumbo-trons, giant words in sky writing. Love is about going that extra mile even if it hurts, letting it all hang out there. Love is about finding courage inside of you that you didn’t even know was there.

And this:

I loathed myself for feeling like I did. I mean, this is crazy. She’s a girl for God’s sake, it’s not like she’s a New York Knick or something.

Spoken like a boy. Heh.

Leave a Reply

