Of cikus and rambutans

At the supermarket yesterday, I was passing an aisle in the fruits section when I saw rows of ciku in packs of 6 or 8. It brought back memories of my old house in Zaaba area.

We had a ciku tree, along with 2 mango trees, a rambutan tree and a coconut tree. Oh, and a papaya tree, a banana tree too, as well as a gajus tree outside.

I was not a big fan of the ciku fruit but I do eat it when the mood strikes.

The tree at my old place was not very high, with deep green leaves and I think it bore fruit every few months. There was a squirrel who was a frequent visitor to our garden and once I remember watching it climb up and down and sometimes being chased by my sisters’ cat.

I prefer climbing the rambutan tree myself. Its fruit was the yellow type, so the tree didn’t attract too many kerenggas like trees with the red fruits do. When the fruits are ripe, I’d be up on the tree trying to get as many as I can before the birds or the squirrel do.

*sigh* I wonder if the trees are still there.

3 thoughts on “Of cikus and rambutans

  1. Lin says:

    It’s chikoo in the UK.. hehe £1.25 for a pack of 4 in asda.

  2. eddycute says:

    i miss rambutan… cant remember the last time i had rambutan..

  3. norzu says:

    chikoo?!? lol

    eddy: guess you’ll hv to go find the canned ones

Leave a Reply

