Some magic

People give flowers as presents because flowers contain the true meaning of Love. Anyone who tries to possess a flower will have to watch its beauty fading. But you simple look at a flower in a field, you will keep it forever, because the flower is part of the evening and the sunset and the smell of damp earth and the clouds on the horizon.

I finished Brida while my car was being serviced. THREE hours is a long time to be at a workshop and I was so glad I had music and the book with me.

I have known about the book for a while, I think I read somewhere that it’s one of the few books by the author yet to be translated into English from his native Portuguese. Until this year that is.

For a book that was first published in 1990, I felt it had a similar theme to his newer title The Witch of Portobello. However, I found Brida more to my liking. That’s just me I guess.

Maybe it was the subject of Soulmates that got to me. All the romantic notions, the idea of finding that one person… Yeah, the perfect escape on wet days like the ones we’ve been having lately.

3 thoughts on “Some magic

  1. aart says:

    Hello!

    I’m a big fan of Paulo Coelho! You will love this! He’s the first best-selling
    author to be distributing for free his works on his blog:
    http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com

    Have a nice day!

    Aart

  2. Idlan says:

    I remember bringing Gaiman and Pratchett’s Good Omens when I went to accompany my friend’s parents to Stoke for pinggan shopping. Abis one sitting.

  3. jazzmatazzed says:

    The only Portobello I know is the Portobello mushroom. I miss reading. Nowadays I only do In Style and Time or Fortune that I nick from the office.

Leave a Reply

