This is truly the end

Book launch

After a morning assignment which ended at noon, I took the rest of the day off to attend the launch of The Quintessential Man: The Story of Tan Sri Azizan Zainul Abidin in Putrajaya. That was the book I had worked on from mid-2005 for over a year.

It seems like a very long time ago. Indeed, two of the people interviewed had passed away – Tan Sri Basir Ismail and Datuk Siew Nim Chee – before they could see the end product.

The hall at Putrajaya Holding hq was full. The late Tan Sri’s family members of course, his close friends, associates from government and reps of all the corporations he was affliated to were there. Even Peter Sauber made a surprise appearance as Petronas, who helped with invitations, wasn’t expecting him to attend and had planned to mail his copy by the end of the week. Not surprising was the absence of Ananda Krishnan while Dr. M is unable to attend as he is away. It would’ve been very interesting if the latter had showed up as it was the current PM who officiated. Heh.

I forgot my handkerchief despite telling myself to bring it in the morning. I knew I’d end up in tears, and I did. I think the guy next to me noticed the wet kleenex in my hand but he wisely chose not to comment on it and offered his congratulations instead.

Puan Sri Noor Ainee was so gracious, thanking me for my work. She didn’t forget her hanky, I see her dabbing the corner of her eyes every now and then.

From the time Azam gave me my own copy, I have been looking forward to people’s response to the book. I didn’t write it, but was invoved in the process of producing it and saw how it evolved from bits of information into different chapters and lastly a coherent piece of writing now able to be scrutinised by anyone.

I’m happy the book is finally out but kinda sad as well. Does that make sense?

3 thoughts on “This is truly the end

  1. coy says:

    Congratulations, Norzu! 🙂

Leave a Reply

