Goodbye, Mr. Segal

I was trawling the news headlines when I saw that Erich Segal had died, after battling with Parkinson’s for almost three decades. That was actually after I read Steve the Waiter’s tribute to Robert Parker, who died earlier.

Segal is famous for Love Story but I know him from his other books, namely The Class and Doctors. I still have the former (siapa nak? it’s yours) while the latter I gave away almost 15 years ago. I don’t know if that person still has it or not. It wasn’t until much later that I saw his famous movie and read the book as well as it’s sequel Oliver’s Story.

After high school, Doctors and The Class were a couple of the earliest ‘proper novels’ I had read in the sense that they weren’t fantasy or science fiction or Judith McNaught or Danielle Steele. Both his books took place in Harvard, and told the stories of the lives of young individuals and how they made their respective life journeys.

I guess I found the books around the same time I was starting my own journey towards adulthood and loved the themes incorporated in the pages. Then there was Andrew Eliot, a character in The Class who is still my favourite after all these years.

Novels. I’m reading less of them nowadays, preferring works of non-fiction. Maybe it’s to compensate my dependence of fiction on tv…

7 thoughts on “Goodbye, Mr. Segal

  1. dillazag says:

    Babe,
    teruja pulak nak baca. will be looking for all three books to add on to the 20plus books i have listed to be read this year. πŸ™‚
    typical me, nak baca orang famous je. (kalau dah mati ni sure lagi famous, kan?)

  2. norzu says:

    kak dilla: you want the class? i give you.

  3. coy says:

    Uwaaa… kesiannya! I have Man, Woman and Child (kat KL). Love the book sebab nipis. Tak kuasa baca fiction yang berjela-jela. πŸ˜›

  4. norzu says:

    Hehe.. dulu aku boleh nak baca berjela-jela and abis cepat je. Sekarang ni satu buku 6 bulan pun belum tentu boleh abis.

  5. dillazag says:

    nor,
    you want to give? like for real?
    saya tak pernah dapat buku, ok?
    i’d be honoured. *chech, cover muka tak malu*
    camna nak bagi, tapi?

  6. drM says:

    oh..dah mati rupanya dia.. i reckon House n Grey’s Anatomy had bits and pieces of Doctors kan? btw,dia ada kena mengena dgn steven segal tak?

  7. norzu says:

    doc, steven seagal is so not related to him! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

