A potato by any other name

Johnny: Now, there’s a man and a woman. He’s a cook. She’s a waitress. Now, they meet and they don’t connect. Only, she noticed him. He could feel it. And he noticed her. And they both knew it was going to happen.

Frankie: I’m afraid. I’m afraid to be alone, I’m afraid not to be alone. I’m afraid of what I am, what I’m not, what I might become, what I might never become. I don’t want to stay at my job for the rest of my life but I’m afraid to leave. And I’m just tired, you know, I’m just so tired of being afraid.

– – –

Frankie & Johnny is one of my favourite movies based in New York City. The script is excellent and Michelle Pfeiffer is gorgeous no matter what she has on.

Maybe it’s the quiet but deep nature of the story, of hopes and dreams, that resonated with me. Unlike in Nick and Norah, where optimism was abundant due to youth, Frankie & Johnny showed how adults deal with loneliness, hope and being resigned to not achieve one’s dreams.

Leave a Reply

