Tiga puluh tujuh

37 things I have learned in my 37 years.

  1. Happiness is measured in moments, not a perpetual state of being.  And if you’re not into happiness, read this.
  2. I have become a more selfish person, I do things that I want to do and not what others say I should or should not do.
  3. I have built a layered wall around me that only few people are let in to the inner sanctum.
  4. Death is closer now than before.  More news of passing than wedding invitations.
  5. I have travelled far, but I still have a long way to go.
  6. There are kindness everywhere, especially when you least expect it.
  7. The best advice I’ve received: “Find out what you love to do the most and then find someone who’d pay you to do it.”
  8. “Give and give again.  The receiving part will take care of itself.”  That’s from a friend.
  9. In the bigger picture, nothing is random.  Really.
  10. We need to be a bit crazy to achieve our dreams.
  11. The beach is my sanctuary.
  12. And the sea is my teacher because sailing builds character.
  13. Don’t judge.  You don’t know the whole story.
  14. To be able to combine your calling and your passion is the best way to live.
  15. I want Manchester United to always win against Liverpool.
  16. Getting lost leads to adventures.  Some good, some bad, but always re-enforcing my belief in one’s strength to overcome challenges.
  17. Taking walks is therapeutic.
  18. Having a mentor helped me to figure out who I want to be professionally.
  19. Living with less should be everyone’s goal, not the opposite.
  20. I can survive without a phone, but not without books.
  21. Volunteering should be a way of life.
  22. Being self-employed is ‘fun’.
  23. Having nephews (and maybe nieces?) means I can hang out with them and send them back at the end of the day.
  24. Enjoying the moment is more important than being busy to document it real time.  Social media can wait until after.
  25. People can not be on Facebook and survive.
  26. You do not have to have everything figured out at 20.
  27. The way you treat people who serve you speaks volume about your character.
  28. To write well, read well.
  29. A good story is written but a great story is re-written.
  30. Ownership dictates policy.
  31. Life-changing connections can happen at the most unlikely place.
  32. Hugs are awesome.
  33. Be grateful with what you have, don’t complain about what you don’t.
  34. Sometimes, it’s the little things that can make a big difference.  Like holding the door for the person behind you.
  35. Courtesy is becoming a rare commodity.
  36. Wearing the Navy uniform gives me the opportunity to give back to my country.
  37. Whatever you do, yang penting niat.
One thought on “Tiga puluh tujuh

  1. hazyr says:

    I laughed out loud at no.15. Muahahahahaha ;p

Leave a Reply

