Everlong

Ever since Eddy got back from Cape Town, she and I have been getting regular sailing time with a boat – the Blue Angel. The owner and his wife are lovely people with really interesting back stories.

Apart from that, we managed to get a short refresher course in PD with another cool couple and I really feel lucky to meet all these people who took the time to teach as well as giving us the opportunity to race on a regular basis. To-date, we have raced five times on board Blue Angel and I think we have a good chance of crewing for her in the Raja Muda.

A few days ago, someone asked what my dream was and I said to sail around the world. The latest Clipper Race had just ended and the VOR will start again next year.

Crowdfund my way to the Clipper Race? I don’t know. There is no harm in trying but I feel that using people’s money for my own pursuit of adventure is very wrong. Unless I am getting paid to write or do stuff for it, like my old column in 2010.

Doing an RTW is something I don’t mind repeating. Maybe not so much of getting lost anymore, you would not want to get lost in the Southern Ocean, no. I don’t know if I’d be able to do even a leg of the Clipper anytime soon but I think maybe rounding the Malaysian peninsula is a more doable venture.

Leave a Reply

