Nothing left to break

My second Royal Langkawi International Regatta, this time as a Blue Angel in IRC2. Only four boats in the group, and I felt like we might not have a chance at line honours. However, with the lowest handicap and some decent finishes, we came in second overall. Phoenix, the winning boat, was just too fast for us. Even with an OCS where she had to do a penalty on the start line, she managed to win EVERY. RACE. Simply awesome.

Blue Angel - cruiser yang berangan nak jadi racer

Blue Angel – cruiser yang berangan nak jadi racer

It felt good to be up on stage again, after our Raja Muda adventures last November. Too bad for the Navy/MAF team, URANUS was no competition to the TP52’s, and having a makeshift crew didn’t help things. Stiff competition in the Sports Boat category too, but they managed to sneak in as runner up after Tom & Co. improved their standings in the final few races.

On the social side of the event, I guess I did pretty well, considering how I stuck to my own lot in 2015. This time there was a surprise connection with my JB friends and Eddy made sure we did a few rounds of mingling. Some really old photos resurfaced and there were plenty of stories exchanged over drinks, nasi with gulai and loud music.

Sunset at Bass Harbour

Sunset at Bass Harbour

There were some glorious sunsets too, at the marina and one while visiting Labarque. Patrick opted out from volunteering at the regatta, so he kept Tigger the cat company on the boat while Elizabeth was on the water at Mark A with Che Ajis and Tengku Deen, along with Tom the retired US Navy diver.  Managed to go on board for a short visit and spent a couple of hours with the Labarque people before I headed to the airport on Sunday.

– – –

I left my heart in Langkawi during my first RLIR. I think I got it back. Not entirely healed, but quite at peace with the universe.

Leave a Reply

